North Queensland v South Queensland Team Announcements

North Queensland v South Queensland Team Announcements

Teams announced ahead of

NQ v SQ Rep Intrastate Clash

All roads lead to Cairns this Saturday for the seventh instalment of the annual senior men’s North Queensland (NQ) versus South Queensland (SQ) Intrastate Clash.

Both coaches have announced their final teams, with a plethora of new faces set to pull on their respective representative jumpers for the first time.

The game is the curtain raiser to the Round 13 Toyota AFL Premiership match between St Kilda and Adelaide Crows at Cazaly’s Stadium.

NQ and SQ both look vastly different to when the two teams last met in Townsville in 2019, with only three players returning for SQ and four for NQ.

After serving as Vice Captain in 2019, Springwood veteran Rowan Page has been elevated into the captaincy this year, while Sean Connelly from Cairns City Lions will skipper the home team.

Debutant NQ coach, Aaron Davey, has pulled together a team that is headlined by former Essendon listed player Jake Long. Representing NQ for the first time and in red hot form for their local clubs, Luke Morgan and Robert Turnbull will be key players for the Northerners, as they look to arrest a four year losing streak.

Returning SQ coach Danny Craven, who is vying for his fifth consecutive win, has some exciting young talent at his disposal, with the likes of Jia Kenneally, Benjamin Lynch and Zac Quinn getting their first turn in the red and blue.

The match kicks off at 4.20pm and will be streamed live via



Jack James –  Beenleigh

Callum Eddy – Beenleigh

Sean Goode – Beenleigh

Joshua Keleher – Caloundra

Luca Mason – Caloundra

Jacob Watson – Caloundra

Benjamin Lynch – Coorparoo

Jack Coghlan – Mayne

Ryan Eyles – Mayne

Cameron Perkins – Mayne

Zac Quinn – Mayne

Daniel Schmidt – Mayne

Jai Kennealy – Springwood

Rowan Page – Springwood (Captain)

Jordan Williams – University of Qld

Zachary Templeton – Kenmore

Jacob Knight – Hinterland

Jaiden Patching – Redcliffe

Matthew Schlein – Bay Power

Damian McRae – Across the Waves Bundaberg

Jayden Smith – Coolaroo

Johnathon Leidig – South Toowoomba

Bradley Kimberley – Caloundra (Travelling Emergency/Runner)


Non-Travelling Emergencies

Shayle Korander-Matheson – Coorparoo

Dominic Killworth – Hinterland


Coaching and Support Staff

Danny Craven – Head Coach

Rory Lake – Asst Coach –– Coorparoo

Josh Duffy – Asst Coach –– Mayne

Rhan Hooper – Asst Coach –– Springwood

Leigh Harding – Program Manager – AFL Qld

Mark Mason – Team Manager – Wide Bay

John Balm – Trainer – Springwood



Anthony  Stewart – North Cairns

Jake Long – City Lions

Nick Johnson – City Lions

Robert Turnbull – City Lions

Sean Connelly – City Lions (Captain)

Branden Deslandes – City Lions

Wes Glass – Cairns Saints  

Joshua Lea – Port Douglas

Joshua Mawson – Port Douglas

Daniel Davidson – Port Douglas

Christian Burgess – Yeppoon

Jamie Garner – Yeppoon

Elia Ware – Manunda

Ezekiel Frank – Manunda

Josh Gall – Manunda

Callaway Parker – Hermit Park

Joel Newman – Thuringowa

Benjamin Barba – Eastern Swans

Jordan Cullen – Mackay Magpies

Lachie Rhook – South Cairns

Luke Morgan – Centrals Trinity

Nicholas Thacker – Centrals Trinity

Oliver Ritchie – Cairns Saints (Emergency / Runner)


Coaching and Support Staff

Aaron Davey – Head Coach – City Lions

Wes Glass – Asst Coach – Cairns Saints

Darren Lange – Asst Coach – Thuringowa

Aaron Flint – City Lions

Craig Lees – Program & Team Manager – AFL Cairns

John Durkin – NQ Ambassador – Townsville