Jo Butland Medalist

Jo Butland Medal

Jo Butland Medal

The Jo Butland Medal was named after 200 game player Joanne Butland from North Cairns Tigers.  Jo has a long history of achievement in AFL, winning 10 Premierships – played in 12, three best on ground performances in a grand final, league best and fairest four times, Queensland player & Captain, All Australian player 2005, 2006, 2007(Captain) & 2011, Coached at a local level, representative level for Queensland, PNG and Gold Coast Suns AFLW and was awarded AFL Cairns Coach of the Year 2011 to 2014.

The winner is selected by voting for the Jo Butland Medal which is conducted by field umpires, immediately after each home-and-away match, with three votes awarded for the player they believed to have been the best on the ground, two votes for the second best player and one vote for the third best player on the day, in their opinion.

Past Winners:

2023 Jennifer Wren (Manunda Hawks)
2022 Tiarna Ahwang (Cairns Saints)
2021 Poppy Boltz (Cairns Saints)
2020 Kareena White (Manunda Hawks), Jennifer Robinson (Manunda Hawks) & Laquioya Cockatoo-Motlap (Cairns City Lions)
2019 Tahlia Smith (Cairns Saints)
2018 Kitara Whap-Farrar (South Cairns)
2017 Kitara Whap-Farrar (South Cairns)
2016 Luana Healey (North Cairns)
2015 Selena Goodman (North Cairns)
2014 Selena Goodman (North Cairns)
2013 Selena Goodman (North Cairns)
2006/2007 Jo Butland (North Cairns)
2005/2006 Jo Butland (North Cairns)
2004/2005 Jo Butland (North Cairns)
2003/2004 Jo Butland (North Cairns)