Cairns players named in North Queensland representative side

Cairns players named in North Queensland representative side

AFL Queensland Media Release
10 June 2019

Cairns players named in North Queensland representative side

AFL Queensland today announced the final North Queensland and South Queensland representatives sides to face off in the annual intrastate clash this Saturday at Riverway Stadium, Townsville.

The match will be held as a twilight curtain closer to the AFL home and away match between the Gold Coast SUNS and St Kilda Saints.

Jermaine Wardle from South Cairns has been named captain of the North Queensland side, with Benjamin Merrett from Bond University to lead South Queensland.

Fourteen Cairns players have been selected in the 22-man side, including Brett Meredith, Adam Gross, Wesley Glass and Joshua Mawson from Port Douglas, Brodie Deverell, Edward Sansbury, Tyron Rainbird and Liam Woodcock-Nowlan from Cairns City Lions, Cade Wellington and Rhys Bridge from Cairns Saints, Nabako Stow, James Dixon and Jermaine Wardle from South Cairns as well as Ezekiel Frank from Manunda Hawks.

North Queensland Coach, Brad Cooper, was excited at the depth of talent in this year’s side.

“There is a lot of new players in the team this year, which is great,” Cooper said.

“We have a young and quick team, which is exciting.

“We are really looking forward to the challenge.”

2019 North Queensland Representative Team

1. Aaron Thompson (Whitsunday/Mackay)
3. Declan Wade (Hermit Park/Townsville)
4. Brett Meredith (Port Douglas/Cairns)
5. Brodie Deverell (Cairns City Lions/Cairns)
6. Cade Wellington (Cairns Saints/Cairns)
7. Nabako Stow (South Cairns/Cairns)
8. Jason Di Betta (Hermit Park/Townsville)
9. Coby Dudman (Hermit Park/Townsville)
10. Connor Smith (Mackay Magpies/Mackay)
11. Edward Sansbury (Cairns City Lions/Cairns)
12 James Dixon (South Cairns/Cairns)
13. Adam Gross (Port Douglas/Cairns)
14. Rhys Bridge (Cairns Saints/Cairns)
15. Tyron Rainbird (Cairns City Lions/Cairns)
16. Wesley Glass (Port Douglas/Cairns)
17. Joshua Mawson (Port Douglas/Cairns)
20. Ezekiel Frank (Manunda Hawks/Cairns)
21. Jermaine Wardle (C) (South Cairns/Cairns)
22. Liam Woodcock-Nowlan (Cairns City Lions/Cairns)
23. Jamie Garner (Yeppoon/Capricornia)
24. Thomas Cossens (Yeppoon/Capricornia)
25. Beau Smith (Hermit Park/Townsville)

Emergencies: 2. Ashley Davidson (Port Douglas/Cairns), 19. Jack Gusmeroli (Curra Swans/Townsville)

Coach: Brad Cooper (Port Douglas/Cairns)

2019 South Queensland Representative Team

2. Wil O’Dwyer (Noosa/QFA D1)
3. Josh Filo (Marochydore/QFA D1)
4. Tyler Stack (Noosa/QFA D1)
5. Thye Clarkson (Warwick/Darling Downs)
6. Rhys King (Bond University/QFA D2)
7. Jai Fitzpatrick (Noosa/QFA D1)
8. Jack Lake (Coorparoo/QFA D1)
9. Jack Collings (Mayne/QFA D1)
10. Oliver Smart (Bond University/QFA D2)
11. Joshua Wheeler (Bay Power/Wide Bay)
12. Rowan Page (VC) (Springwood/QFA D1)
13. Jasper Schoenmaker (Burleigh/QFA D1)
14. Matthew Schlein (Bay Power/Wide Bay)
15. Tyle Williams (Maroochydore/QFA D1)
16. Dean Hartley (Mayne/QFA D1)
17. Mitchell Scholard (Maroochydore/QFA D1)
18. Nathan Quick (VC) (University of Queensland/QFA D1)
19. Johnathan Leidig (South Toowoomba/Darling Downs)
20. Connor McDonald (Noosa/QFA D1)
21. Benjamin Merrett (C) (Bond University/QFA D2)
22. Jordan Bain (Springwood/QFA D1)
23. Ryley Buntain (Noosa QFA D1)

Emergency: 24. Lochie Laing (Maroochydore/QFA D1)

Coach: Danny Craven

Match Day Information

Riverway Stadium, Townsville
Saturday 15 June

AFL Premiership Round 13
Gold Coast SUNS v St Kilda Saints
1.45pm AEST

North Queensland v South Queensland Representative Match
4.30pm AEST

Media Enquiries

AFL Cairns will notify all media of local opportunities.

For assistance contact Jane Clarke on 0433 493 177 or


AFL Queensland News & Information
For all the latest news & information visit or follow us on our Social Media platforms: Facebook, Instagram & Twitter

For further enquiries please contact:
Larissa Mouttou
State Manager-Media & Marketing
AFL Queensland
0439 776 325